it’s ok if plans change

The winds have shifted our course a little bit, and this means I might be able to live out one of my most recent and important life  plans: to build a tiny homestead and become as self-sufficient as possible! This includes meat animals, a garden with lots of variety, and dwarf fruit trees. Everything isn’t final yet, and I’m sure I am getting ahead of myself with planning this whole thing (that tends to be a habit of mine).

What I am Looking Forward To:

  • dwarf fruit trees
  • a root cellar
  • quails and rabbits for meat
  • possibly a pig for meat?
  • line-drying our clothes
  • a huge garden that rotates produce through the year
  • a hand-built fort for super awesome play time
  • a firepit
  • a relaxing a spiritual place for on-site spirit communication and scrying
  • rabbits and goats for fiber

I’d also like to have a set-up where I can offer fruits and veggies, crochet blankets, and the fiber from the animals. Come by and check out the animals before you take home their hair for all your crafty needs!

Keeping track of my activities the first year would be very important, from crop planting times to modifications to the property to recipes that I made using the food harvested. It would be a nice little book full of learning and knowledge for anyone else looking to start this life. Keeping it in a diary format would give it a lot of charm, I think. If I keep my handwriting legible I might be able to just copy the journal pages entirely.

Just random thoughts, maybe I needed to type it out to keep it together for myself. Also, I’m still having a big sale in my Etsy shop, 40% off everything (the link is at the top of the page).

Leave a Reply

